Recent Articles

MSCAPP held its 2012 annual meeting December 18, 2012, at Tequila’s Restaurant in Ridgeland, Ms. Guest Speaker was Attorney Drew Malone who spoke to the group on Documentation and Preparation for Your Lawsuit. He also spoke at length regarding disciplinary proceedings with the Ms Appraisal Board.


                Officers and Directors for 2013 were elected as follows:


                President                            Jean M. McCarty, Ridgeland       

                Vice-President                  Kenny Adcock. Clinton

                Secretary                             Betsy Hanry, Madison

                Treasurer                            Steve Brenner, Biloxi


Director, 2nd Congressional District to fill vacancy created by Kenny Adcock’s election as Vice-President is George McMillin, Vicksburg. MSCAPP welcomes George to the Board and thanks him for agreeing to serve in this position.


All other directors were elected last year and are serving either a two year term or a three year term.


Committee Chairmen are:   Legislative – Jim Conerly; Education – Melissa Bond; Membership – Wes McGee


MSCAPP 2013 goals are:


  • Encourage the MAB to implement the AMC Registration Act. This Act became effective July 1, 2011 and the amended Act became effective July 1, 2012. The MAB has not implemented the law to date. If not done soon, the MAB will sustain up to a $100,000 in lost revenue this fiscal year. In addition appraisers continue to suffer at the hands of AMC’s in the way of low fees, harassment and illegal pressure regarding appraisal content, illegal removal from fee panels, appraiser independence issues, unpaid fees, and a host of other ills associated with AMC’s.
  • Contract for an official Reasonable and Customary Fee Survey –Our Legislative Committee is currently working with Ms State University in the hopes of securing an official Reasonable and Customary Fee Survey – that MSCAPP members only – will be able to use in their business relations with lenders and AMC’S.
  • Create Regional Comp Databases for MSCAPP members – Kenny Adcock is currently working with the Coast counties’ appraisers to create a Comp Database that MSCAPP members can use to verify data quickly and at all hours of the day or night. Speaking from experience in the Jackson Metro Area, our comp database is the BEST TOOL we have in preparing USPAP compliant appraisals in a timely manner.
  • Monitor Legislation
  • Increase awareness of the importance of our state-wide appraiser advocacy organization by promoting MSCAPP accomplishments and its goals.

A group of concerned appraisers met January 2010 to discuss the BPO legislation that was flying through the State Capitol and, during that meeting, the need for a statewide appraisal organization became very evident. We needed appraisers united, informed and on the same page when it came to state legislation. We realized we needed a grassroots network of appraisers who could explain to their local legislators the pros and cons of bills that were being considered at the Capitol. We also knew that our industry needed professional assistance in the form of a lobbyist at the State Capitol.


We also realized that a network of appraisers would be very beneficial to each other through forum discussions and educational offerings on the complex laws and regulations governing our industry.  Very Importantly, we needed a Voice here in Mississippi for the appraisal industry.


In September 2010, appraisers from around the State met again in Jackson. This time, the goal was to start the process of forming a statewide Coalition. On December 6, 2010, the group met again and The Mississippi Coalition of Appraisers (MSCAPP) was born.


Who Are We? We are Appraisers in the State of Mississippi.




President - Rick Adams, Columbus

Vice-President - Jessie McNeil, Brandon

Secretary - Pamela Roberson, Oxford

Treasurer - Shelton Bounds, Treasurer




Congressional District 1            Vacant - 2019-2020

                                                   Bill Anton, Southaven -  2020 THRU 2021

Congressional District 2              Kenneth Williams -  2019 THRU 2020

                                                    Kenny Adcock, Clinton - 2020 THRU 2021

Congressional District 3             John Newell, Madison – 2019 THRU 2020

                                                   Wally Cummins, Brandon - 2020 THRU 2021

Congressional District 4             Steve Brenner, Biloxi – 2019 THRU 2020

                                                    Nick Crutcher, Hattiesburg – 2020 thru 2021

At-Large                                      Jim Conerly, Ridgeland – 2019 THRU 2020

                                                    Patrick Floyd, Brandon – 2020 THRU 2021

                                                    Bob Morrow, Brandon - 2019 THRU 2020

Immediate Past-President           Paul Hardin, Madison 

Executive Director                       Jean McCarty, Ridgeland


For more information see our Mission Statement.

Member Login

Certain areas of this site are reserved for members only. Please log in to avoid any problems. To log in just enter your username or email address and password. If you forgot your login info, just click the forgot login link and follow the instructions.